November 30, 2022 – UAB School of Nursing Auditorium

The Nurse Legion of Honor Medal is the highest award presented by the Alabama State Nurses Association in its 109 year history. The criteria mirrors that of the Medal of Honor for the military. Nurses who preform acts of courage with risks beyond those normally associated with the profession are nominated and carefully screened by their peers to qualify for the Medal.

Two UAB ER Nurses Receive Legion of Honor

Two UAB ER nurses, India Alford and Sherichia Hardy received medals. Alford and Hardy assisted in the field amputation to save a victim of the 2021 Fultondale, Alabama tornado. They did this from the basement of a collapsed home that was perilously unstable while Drs. Donald Reiff and Courtney Blake Gibson conducted a field amputation to free a trapped resident and save his life. Drs. Reiff and Gibson also received the ASNA Outstanding Medical Practice Award.

More Awards Bestowed This Historical Night

Other awards presented at the event were the State Outstanding Nurse Educator Award, given to Dr. Loretta Lee of the UAB School of Nursing and the Outstanding Health Care Organization/Unit Award to the UAB Emergency Department and Trauma Center. Dr. Deborah Thedford-Zimmerman was recognized for recently receiving the UAB National Alumni Society Volunteer of the Year Award.

Dr. Lindsey Harris, ASNA president, presided with participation from Dr. Terri Poe, UAB Director of Nursing and Dr. Doreen Harper, Dean of the UAB School of Nursing.