ASNA Members Receive UAB School of Nursing Visionary Leader Recognition

As part of their 70th anniversary, The University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Nursing honored 70 alumni considered leaders in nursing, nurse anesthesia and health care. Please congratulate our current and former ASNA members who were included in this honor.

Community Award Recipient

The Community Impact Award is presented to an individual in the field of nursing who has made a significant and positive impact on a community through their career or community service.

This year, the recipient of the award is Dr. Bobbie Holt-Ragler Retired, Mobile Infirmary & USA Health Center, District 4 member.


Marsha H. Adams, PhD, RN, CNE, ANEF, FAAN – BSN 1977, MSN 1983, PhD 1992 — Professor and Dean, University of Alabama in Huntsville College of Nursing

Janet S. Awtrey, PhD – PhD 1980 — Dean and Professor Emeritus, Capstone College of Nursing, University of Alabama – ASNA Past President 1987-1989

Natalie R. Baker, DNP, CRNP, ANP-BC, GNP-BC,
CNE, GS-C, FAANP – BSN 1985, MSN 1990, DNP 2010 — Associate Professor, UAB School of Nursing

Thomas W. Barkley, Jr., PhD, ACNP-BC, ANP, FAANP – PhD 1994 — President, Barkley & Associates Inc.

Velinda J. Block, DNP, RN, NEA-BC – DNP 2010 — retired, Chief Nurse Executive, HCA Healthcare TriStar Division

Jennifer J. Coleman, PhD, RN, CNE, COI – BSN 1976 — Professor, Moffett & Sanders School of Nursing, Samford University

Cindy Cooke, DNP, FNP-C, FAANP – DNP 2013 — adjunct faculty, University of Mary, Bismarck, ND

Norma G. Cuellar, PhD, RN, FAAN – PhD 1997 — Professor, Capstone College of Nursing, University of Alabama

Martha A. Dawson, DNP, RN, FACHE – BSN 1976, MSN 1984 — Associate Professor, UAB School of Nursing

Joy P. Deupree, PhD, RN, WHNP-BC – BSN 1994, MSN 1997 — Professor and Associate Dean for Practice Innovation, Partnerships, and Policy, University of South Carolina College of Nursing

Gregory S. Eagerton, DNP, RN, NEA-BC – BSN 1985, MSN 1991 — Associate Professor, UAB School of Nursing

Juanzetta S. Flowers, PhD, RN – BSN 1966, MSN 1983, PhD 1985 — Associate Professor Emerita, UAB School of Nursing – ASNA Past President, 1995-1997 and 2003-2005

Pamela N. Fordham, PhD, RN, FNP, FAANP – MSN 1976, PhD 1989 — retired Chair, Family/Child Health and Caregiving Department, UAB School of Nursing

Linda Gibson-Young, PhD, ARNP, FNP-BC, AE-C, FAANP – MSN 2003, PhD 2011 — Associate Professor, Auburn University School of Nursing – past ASNA Vice President

Melanie Gibbons Hallman, DNP, CRNP, CEN, FNPBC, ACNP-BC, ENP-C, TCRN, FAEN – BSN 1983, MSN 1990, MSN 1995, DNP 2012 — Assistant Professor, UAB School of Nursing\

Lindsey M. Harris, DNP, CRNP, FNP-BC – MSN 2011, DNP 2016 — Inpatient Nurse Practitioner, UAB Hospital – current ASNA President

Ashley L. Hodges, PhD, CRNP, WHNP-BC, FAANP, FAAN – MSN 1997, PhD 2008 — Professor and Associate Dean for Graduate Clinical Programs, UAB School of Nursing

Carthenia W. Jefferson, Esq., JD, BSN, RN – BSN 1985 — Senior Attorney, Jefferson Law Firm LLC – past ASNA Vice President

Carolynn Thomas Jones, DNP, MSPH, RN, FAAN – BSN 1986, DNP 2013 — Associate Professor, Ohio State University College of Nursing

Loretta T. Lee, PhD, CRNP, FNP-BC – MSN 1991, PhD 2012 — Associate Professor, UAB School of Nursing

Donna R. Packa, DSN, RN – MSN 1976, DSN 1986 — Professor Emerita, Capstone College of Nursing, University of Alabama

Terri L. Poe, DNP, RN, NE-BC – BSN 1986, DNP 2013 — Chief Nursing Officer, UAB Hospital

Carol J. Ratcliffe, DNP, RN, COI, FACHE – MSN 1995 — Professor and Chair, Department of Healthcare Administration and Informatics, School of Public Health, Samford University

Cynthia S. Selleck, PhD, RN, FAAN – PhD 1987 — Professor Emerita, UAB School of Nursing Larry Z. Slater, PhD, RN-BC, CNE, FAAN – BSN 2008, PhD 2011 — Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Programs, Loewenberg College of Nursing, University of Memphis

D’Ann W. Somerall, DNP, MAEd, CRNP, FNP-BC, FAANP – BSN 1995, MSN 1999, DNP 2011 — retired Assistant Professor, UAB School of Nursing

Aimee C. Holland, DNP, MS, CRNP, WHNP-BC, FNP-C, FAANP – DNP 2012 — Associate Professor and Assistant Dean for Graduate Clinical Education, UAB School of Nursing

Congratulations to all! Learn more about UAB’s School of Nursing’s 70 Visionary Leaders here.